I’m Gonna Miss you, Design.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetAs I pack away my design books and spring cleaning the material library in my office, I can’t help but feel a surge of sadness. I’m gonna miss all these paint swatches, tile samples, fabric charts, furniture catalogues and all the material samplings that I’ve collected for the past 5 years. Throughout these years, I had learned so much starting from design on the drawing board to physically see the completion of the project; I made many good friends from the network circles within my industry; I established a new division to initiate external projects; I travelled to China for furniture procurement and pick up skills in price negotiation; I stayed overnight at a project site while I was 9 months pregnant, I see my work got published in magazine and newspaper; I learned how to be a team leader (& knows that it is never easy to be one), I got scolded, cheated, insulted, blamed and bullied in so many different ways that made me who I am today.

It’s hard to say goodbye, but these does not mean I’m putting an end to my design career. Design will always be something that I’m passionate about, it’s what I love and will never be tired of it. However I need to step outside my comfort zone to do something that is beyond my realm of knowledge and capability, something which I will find myself being purposeful and achieve fulfillment in a very different way.

As I look forward to a new chapter of my career, I vowed to work harder, strive harder and be better for my loved ones.

{Pic of me & my bestie/ex-colleague went furniture hunting at Foshan, Guangzhou in May 2011, look how serious we were… LOL…}

One thought on “I’m Gonna Miss you, Design.

  1. Pingback: Thank you, 2014 | Doting Design

Leave a Reply

