Weekly Planned Meal.

Untitled-1
The parents are away & since I’ve completed my MA, that gives me some time to plan our weekly meal. Yes, I like to plan my meal, just like anything else. My goal is to eat at home as much as possible.It’s been two weeks and I’m pleased that we’ve only eat out twice and have not touch a single packet of instant noodle. I think my mom & mom in-law would be proud. 🙂 So how do I make dinner when I have a full time job that requires me 1.5 – 2 hour travelling journey? It’s not easy I’d say, but it’s not impossible. Here’s some tips on how I do it.

  1. Plan ahead.
    When you know what you’re making for the next day, you’re able to get the produce ready. For ex: defroze chicken and fish from the fridge. It’s simple step but trust me, it cuts down the time a whole lot.
  2. Pre-wash/pre-cut Vegetable
    I do that for vegetables that I know I’m gonna use for the next day. To ensure freshness, make sure you keep them in an airtight tupperware.  This will cut down your prep time.
  3. Keep it simple
    As I’m really short of time, I will opt to cook meals that will take me no more than 40 mins. (that includes prep, cook, wash the dishes). I finish work at 5:30pm, by the time I pack up & get to the car, it’s already 5:50pm. I reach home at 6:35pm (if I’m lucky) and that gives me less than 40 mins before I have to pick up Ju-Hann from the babysitter. Therefore I always stick to simple meals. Let’s leave the complicated ones for the weekend.
  4. Loads of Vegetables
    Raw vegetables like lettuce& cucumber, or steam broccoli & cauliflower make great side dishes, it’s very healthy that way.
  5. Kitchen equipment.
    I like to use electrical steamers that allows you to cook several items at the same time: steam rice and vege or eggs. Thermal cooker is good when you’re making stew/soup/porridge.
  6. Keep staple ingredients in the pantry
    I make sure ingredients such as ginger, onion, garlic, potato, tomato area always available in the pantry, because it goes with anything.

Finally when I’m really tired or get caught in the jam, we’ll enjoy very simple dinner –  like oatmeal/cereal or sandwich. It’s dinner anyway & you don’t want to go to bed with a full tummy. Plus, I’m blessed that hubbs is not a picky eater.

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

