Mommy, can you sleep with me?

IMG_20170327_220240_047Lately, my eldest will utter these words when I put him to bed. It used to be hubbs who would put him to bed, where after the usual night routine (brush teeth, pee, had scott, emulsion & vitamins, wear his socks, say his prayers), he will sing a song of JH’s choice. Among JH’s favourite songs are:

  1. Summer of 69
  2. Dream
  3. Only You
  4. Can’t Help Falling In Love (He called this ‘Wise Man’ song. LOL)
  5. Eternal Flame
  6. Wonderful World
  7. Eelderwisse
  8. Moon River
  9. Sunshine

But hubbs had been working late for awhile now, so most of the days I gotta put that cheeky monkey to bed. I don’t know how it happen but I must have slept on his bed with him  a couple of times, and somehow it just because something that he’s attached to, even if its for 5 minutes. It just so happened that around this time, we’ve established Junna’s sleeping habit, so we can just put her in her crib (after her last feed around 9pm), and she’ll go to sleep on her own, and bless me some time to spend with his gorgor before the day ends.

It may seem like a very little gesture but I know it means the world to him whenever I spend a few minutes with him on bed before sleep. He will choose the sides he’d like to sleep on, ask me to hug him tighter, share the blacket with me, tell me what he wants for his bento breakkie etc…I don’t know when I start to appreciate this precious little time with him, but it just overwhelms me whenever I think about how fast he’s growing up and one day, he wouldn’t want me to sleep on his bed anymore.

So for now, my dear baby Ju, I will sleep with you for as long as you want me to.

Leave a Reply

