Loving and Loathing.

IMG_20170721_131642_465These morning for the past week have been difficult. Hubbs and I weren’t getting enough sleep. We’re tired, grouchy and when it was topped with a whiny, grumpy  kid who refused to get ready for school (especially when you know you’re going to be shit late if you don’t leave the house in 10 mins)… the house was infused with explosion of bickering, shouting, tears, and we end up ruin the morning (and our mood). Sigh.

I know he’s a good kid; compassion, friendly, kind and funny, but I have to admit that I have the whiniest kid, who would argue and negotiate his way out of all the things that I’ve instructed him to do. If he doesn’t win the negotiation, Boom!, he become this really irritable person that’s just unbearable sometimes. While I know he’s at the development stage of experimenting with boundaries and rules (especially we just sent him to a more discipline-oriented kindergarten), I don’t want to do a crappie job in setting the foundation of his attitude and personality.

…and then this morning, amidst our chaotic rush where hubbs need to attend a really really important event, this guy insist to finish his Lego truck. I heard myself nag & growl andin response he defy and insist he wants to complete building this truck. And he did, just right before we dash out the door. (Double) sigh.

Then I drop him off to school, he left the truck in the car. Then I drove to office and park my car. Then I took a good minute and observe this ‘truck’ that almost made me lose my shit this morning. Suddenly, all the angst, frustration is gone. I’m so in awe with this truck that he made. It’s proportion, symmetry not to mention the colours… I’m so proud of him!

(Triple) Sigh… the struggle is REAL. It’s parenthood, sometimes you loathe it and sometimes things like this just makes you all mushy. As our good friend Madam Lu said: ‘Tis’ the season of (parenting) life’.

P.S.: (I still love him to bits.)

 

 

 

Precious time in Kuching.

Last weekend, we travel to Cat City, mainly to visit, as hubby describe: ‘Favourite person on earth, probably the entire Galaxy – our dearest Madam Lu. We were there for 2.5 days and gladly we spend it mostly with her and her family. Ohhh, we also manage to pay a visit to a dear friend’s cake house, check out her amazing sweet savoury here.

IMG_20170715_171633_562IMG_20170715_172032_187IMG_20170716_000611_857IMG_20170718_093902_813

If there’s one thing to describe our relationship with Mdm Lu, its: You don’t have to be related by blood to be family, Love is enough.